People

Principal Investigator


Brannon

Elizabeth M. Brannon

Edmund J. and Louise W. Kahn Term Chair
Professor, Dept. of Psychology

Curriculum Vitae
Google Scholar
Email: ebrannon@sas.upenn.edu
Department Link: UPenn Department of Psychology

Dr. Elizabeth M. Brannon graduated Summa Cum Laude from The University of Pennsylvania, where she received her B.A. in Physical Anthropology in 1992. She received a Masters degree in Anthropology and a PhD in Psychology from Columbia University. She has been at Duke in the Department of Psychology & Neuroscience and the Center for Cognitive Neuroscience since the year 2000 and was promoted to Associate Professor in 2008 and Full Professor in 2012. She is currently the Director of Graduate Studies for the Cognitive Neuroscience Admitting Program (CNAP) and the head of the developmental area within P&N. She maintains a secondary appointment in the department of Evolutionary Anthropology.

She has received numerous academic awards and honors including the Young Investigator Award from The Society for Experimental Psychology, a CAREER award from the National Science Foundation, a Merck Scholar Award, and a James McDonnell Scholar Award. She is on the editorial board of Cognition, Journal of Experimental Psychology: Animal Behavior Processes, Psychological Science, and Infancy. Dr. Brannon’s research is funded by The National Institutes of Health and The National Science Foundation. Dr. Brannon teaches courses on cognitive development and comparative psychology and maintains two laboratories focused on quantitative cognition in nonhuman primates and human infants.


Post-Docs

Stephanie_Bugden

Stephanie Bugden

Postdoctoral Associate
Email: sdbugden@sas.upenn.edu
Stephanie received her PhD from the University of Western Ontario, Canada, where she worked with Dr. Daniel Ansari. Her research focused on characterizing the numerical deficits of children with persistent dyscalculia, a specific math learning disorder, using both behavioral and functional neuroimaging tools.  Her present work focuses on examining the neural plastic changes induced by approximate arithmetic training in both children and adults, and exploring the mechanisms underlying transfer effects of approximate arithmetic training on symbolic math.

 

nick_resized

Nick DeWind

Postdoctoral Associate
Email:
dewind@sas.upenn.edu
Nick is broadly interested in neural computations and how perceptual codes become action codes. His present work focuses on the neural coding of numerosity in the posterior parietal area.


Graduate Students


emily_new

Emily Szkudlarek

Graduate Student, University of Pennsylvania
Email:
emilysz@sas.upenn.edu
Emily received her BS in Psychology from the University of Connecticut in 2012, where she worked in the labs of Dr. Whitney Tabor and Dr. Etan Markus studying learning from cognitive psychology and behavioral neuroscience perspectives. Emily taught English as a foreign language at a public elementary school in Gyeongju, South Korea, before working with Dr. Brannon as a graduate student, She is interested in educational implications of nonsymbolic numerical representations, and in the growing field of educational neuroscience.

Rose Schneider

Graduate Student, University of Pennsylvania
Email: rosems@sas.upenn.edu


Research Associates


Yvette Almaguer

School Liaison
Email: yalm@sas.upenn.edu
Yvette graduated from the University of Pennsylvania Graduate School of Education in Interdisciplinary Studies in Human Development in 2011. She currently works with Philadelphia schools as a liaison.

Bonnie Zuckerman

Lab Manager
Email: bzuck@sas.upenn.edu
Bonnie received a BA in Speech Language Hearing Science from Temple University and a MS in Cognitive Neuroscience of Language from the Basque Center on Cognition Brain and Language in conjunction with the University of the Basque Country. She currently manages the Brannon Lab.

Maria Arevalo-Gonzalez

Research Assistant
Email: mareva@sas.upenn.edu

Wendy Arce

Research Assistant
Email: warce@sas.upenn.edu

Zoe Belardo

Research Assistant
Email: zoebel@sas.upenn.edu

Chung Chae “Jenny”

Research Assistant
Email: chaec@sas.upenn.edu

Issac Dayan

Research Assistant
Email: idayan@sas.upenn.edu

 

Andreas Nolan

Research Assistant
Email: andreasn@sas.upenn.edu

Mnali Patel

Research Assistant
Email: patelmn@sas.upenn.edu

Justin Roberson

Research Assistant
Email: jrobes@sas.upenn.edu

Luis Rosario

Research Assistant
Email: lrosario@sas.upenn.edu

Sammi Rosenfeld

Research Assistant
Email: sammirosenfeld@gmail.com

Ashley Sayles

Research Assistant
Email: asayles@sas.upenn.edu

Caroline Solus

Research Assistant
Email: solus@sas.upenn.edu

Haobai Zhang

Research Assistant
Email: haobaiz@gse.upenn.edu

 


Brannon Lab Alumni

 

Former Graduate Students

Rosa Li, PhD, Duke, 2017

Postdoctoral associate for Duke’s Center for Cognitive Neuroscience, Duke University
Email: rosa.li@duke.edu
Rosa’s Website

Caroline Drucker, PhD, Duke, 2016

Email: caroline.drucker@duke.edu

Ariel Starr, PhD, Duke, 2015

Currently Postdoctoral Associate, UC Berkley 

Sarah Jones, PhD, Duke, 2012

Assistant Professor, Berea College
Email:
sarahmychal@gmail.com

David Paulsen, PhD, 2012

Postdoctoral Fellow at the Laboratory of Neurocognitive Development at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
Email: 
david.paulsen@duke.edu

Melissa Libertus, PhD, 2010

Assistant Professor, University of Rochester
Melissa’s Website

Jessica Cantlon, PhD, 2007

Associate Professor, University of Rochester
Email: jcantlon@rcbi.rochester.edu

Kerry Jordan, PhD, 2007

Associate Professor, Utah State University
Email: kerry.jordan@usu.edu


Former Postdocs

Joonkoo Park, PhD

Postdoctoral Associate in Brannon Lab 2010-2014
Assistant Professor, UMass Amherst
Email: joonkoo@umass.edu

Michal Pinhas, PhD

Postdoctoral Associate in Brannon Lab 2011-2013
Assistant Professor, Ariel University, Isreal
Email: 
michalpinhas@gmail.com

Dustin Merritt, PhD

Postdoctoral Associate in Brannon Lab 2006-2011
Human Factor Engineering Specialist II, Sprint

Sara Cordes, PhD

Postdoctoral Associate in Brannon Lab 2005-2009
Associate Professor, Boston College
Email: 
sara.cordes@bc.edu
Sara’s Website 

Jamie Roitman, PhD

Postdoctoral Associate in Brannon Lab 2002-2006
Associate Professor, University of Illinois at Chicago
Email: 
jroitman@uic.edu
Jamie’s Website

John Pearson, PhD

Postdoctoral Associate
Research Assistant Professor, Duke Institute for Brain Sciences
Email: 
pearson@neuro.duke.edu


Former Research Assistants

Evan MacLean

Assistant Professor, University of Arizona
Evan’s Website

Umay Suanda

Associate Professor, University of Connecticut

Emily Hopkins

Postdoc at Upenn with Deena Weisberg
Emily’s Website

Monica Carlson

Email: monica.lynn.carlson@gmail.com

Rachel Roberts

Graduate Student at University of Michigan
Email: 
rachel.c.roberts@me.com

Vanessa Bermudez

Research Staff at Sanford University Center for Infant Studies
Email: 
vnb3@stanford.edu