People

Principal Investigator


Brannon

Elizabeth M. Brannon

Edmund J. and Louise W. Kahn Term Chair
Professor, Dept. of Psychology

Curriculum Vitae
Google Scholar
Email: ebrannon@sas.upenn.edu
Department Link: UPenn Department of Psychology

Dr. Elizabeth M. Brannon graduated Summa Cum Laude from The University of Pennsylvania, where she received her B.A. in Physical Anthropology in 1992. She received a Masters degree in Anthropology and a PhD in Psychology from Columbia University. She has been at Duke in the Department of Psychology & Neuroscience and the Center for Cognitive Neuroscience since the year 2000 and was promoted to Associate Professor in 2008 and Full Professor in 2012. She is currently the Director of Graduate Studies for the Cognitive Neuroscience Admitting Program (CNAP) and the head of the developmental area within P&N. She maintains a secondary appointment in the department of Evolutionary Anthropology.

She has received numerous academic awards and honors including the Young Investigator Award from The Society for Experimental Psychology, a CAREER award from the National Science Foundation, a Merck Scholar Award, and a James McDonnell Scholar Award. She is on the editorial board of Cognition, Journal of Experimental Psychology: Animal Behavior Processes, Psychological Science, and Infancy. Dr. Brannon’s research is funded by The National Institutes of Health and The National Science Foundation. Dr. Brannon teaches courses on cognitive development and comparative psychology and maintains two laboratories focused on quantitative cognition in nonhuman primates and human infants.


Post-Docs

Stephanie_Bugden

Stephanie Bugden

Postdoctoral Associate
Email: sdbugden@sas.upenn.edu
Stephanie received her PhD from the University of Western Ontario, Canada, where she worked with Dr. Daniel Ansari. Her research focused on characterizing the numerical deficits of children with persistent dyscalculia, a specific math learning disorder, using both behavioral and functional neuroimaging tools.  Her present work focuses on examining the neural plastic changes induced by approximate arithmetic training in both children and adults, and exploring the mechanisms underlying transfer effects of approximate arithmetic training on symbolic math.

 

nick_resized

Nick DeWind

Postdoctoral Associate
Email:
dewind@sas.upenn.edu
Nick is broadly interested in neural computations and how perceptual codes become action codes. His present work focuses on the neural coding of numerosity in the posterior parietal area.


Graduate Students


emily_new

Emily Szkudlarek

Graduate Student, University of Pennsylvania
Email:
emilysz@sas.upenn.edu
Emily received her BS in Psychology from the University of Connecticut in 2012, where she worked in the labs of Dr. Whitney Tabor and Dr. Etan Markus studying learning from cognitive psychology and behavioral neuroscience perspectives. Between UConn and Duke Emily taught English as a foreign language at a public elementary school in Gyeongju, South Korea. She is interested in educational implications of nonsymbolic numerical representations, and in the growing field of educational neuroscience.

Rose Schneider

Graduate Student, University of Pennsylvania
Email: rosems@sas.upenn.edu


Research Associates


Yvette Almaguer

Lab Manager
Email: yalm@sas.upenn.edu
Yvette graduated from the University of Pennsylvania Graduate School of Education in Interdisciplinary Studies in Human Development in 2011. She currently manages the Brannon Lab and works with Philadelphia schools as a liaison
Inline image 1

Esther Adegbulugbe

Research Assistant
Email: eadeg@sas.upenn.edu

 

Wendy Arce

Research Assistant
Email: warce@sas.upenn.edu

Maria Arevalo-Gonzalez

Research Assistant
Email: mareva@sas.upenn.edu

Marilyn Baffoe-Bonnie

Research Assistant
Email: bmarilyn@sas.upenn.edu

Chung Chae “Jenny”

Research Assistant
Email: chaec@sas.upenn.edu
Picture14

Joe Dembik

Research Assistant
Email: jdembik@sas.upenn.edu

Amanda Fields

Research Assistant
Email: fieldsa@sas.upenn.edu

Yoon Joo Kim

Research Assistant
Email: yoonjkim@sas.upenn.edu

Lauren Paulson

Research Assistant
Email: lfedje@gse.upenn.edu

 

 

Luis Rosario

Research Assistant
Email: lrosario@sas.upenn.edu

Mikie Sakanaka

Research Assistant
Email: mikiesak@sas.upenn.edu

 

Picture11

I’mani Sellers

Research Assistant
Email: selimai@sas.upenn.edu

 

 

Katrina Seykora

Research Assistant
Email: kseykora@sas.upenn.edu

Riann Winget

Research Assistant
Email: riwinget@sas.upenn.edu

 

Haobai Zhang

Research Assistant
Email: haobaiz@gse.upenn.edu


Brannon Lab Alumni

 

Former Graduate Students

Rosa Li, PhD, Duke, 2017

Postdoctoral associate for Duke’s Center for Cognitive Neuroscience, Duke University
Email: rosa.li@duke.edu
Rosa’s Website

Caroline Drucker, PhD, Duke, 2016

Email: caroline.drucker@duke.edu

Ariel Starr, PhD, Duke, 2015

Currently Postdoctoral Associate, UC Berkley 

Sarah Jones, PhD, Duke, 2012

Assistant Professor, Berea College
Email:
sarahmychal@gmail.com

David Paulsen, PhD, 2012

Postdoctoral Fellow at the Laboratory of Neurocognitive Development at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
Email: 
david.paulsen@duke.edu

Melissa Libertus, PhD, 2010

Assistant Professor, University of Rochester
Melissa’s Website

Jessica Cantlon, PhD, 2007

Assistant Professor, University of Rochester
Email: jcantlon@rcbi.rochester.edu

Kerry Jordan, PhD, 2007

Assistant Professor, Utah State University
Email: kerry.jordan@usu.edu

 

Former Postdocs

Joonkoo Park, PhD

Postdoctoral Associate in Brannon Lab 2010-2014
Assistant Professor, UMass Amherst
Email: joonkoo@umass.edu

Michal Pinhas, PhD

Postdoctoral Associate in Brannon Lab 2011-2013
Assistant Professor, Ariel University, Isreal
Email: 
michalpinhas@gmail.com

Dustin Merritt, PhD

Postdoctoral Associate in Brannon Lab 2006-2011
Human Factor Engineering Specialist II, Sprint

Sara Cordes, PhD

Postdoctoral Associate in Brannon Lab 2005-2009
Associate Professor, Boston College
Email: 
sara.cordes@bc.edu
Sara’s Website 

Jamie Roitman, PhD

Postdoctoral Associate in Brannon Lab 2002-2006
Assistant Research Professor, University of Illinois at Chicago
Email: 
jroitman@uic.edu
Jamie’s Website

John Pearson, PhD

Postdoctoral Associate
Research Assistant Professor, Duke Institute for Brain Sciences
Email: 
pearson@neuro.duke.edu

 

Former Research Assistants

Evan MacLean

Postdoctoral Associate with Brian Hare, Duke
Evan’s Website

Umay Suanda

Postdoc in Linda Smith’s Lab, Duke

Emily Hopkins

Postdoc at Upenn with Deena Weisberg
Emily’s Website

Monica Carlson

Email: monica.lynn.carlson@gmail.com

Rachel Roberts

Graduate Student at University of Michigan
Email: 
rachel.c.roberts@me.com

Vanessa Bermudez

Research Staff at Sanford University Center for Infant Studies
Email: 
vnb3@stanford.edu