Itineraries

SAST 217.404; RELS 217.404

 Sufis and Gods: Temples and Shrines of Southeast Asia

Date Activities Location
Friday, March 2 Depart Philadelphia for Singapore Philadelphia, PA
Sunday, March 4 Arrive in Singapore; Indian Heritage Centre; Walking tour of Little India; Evening devotional music Singapore
Monday, March 5 Walking tour of of Keramats and Shrines Singapore
Tuesday, March 6 Walking tour of Muneeswaran Shrines; Interaction with NUS South Asian Studies faculty Singapore
Wednesday, March 7 Leave for Melaka; “Chetti” lunch in Melaka; Pulau Besar evening trip; Night walking tour of temples and mosques Melaka
Thursday, March 8 Visit Kampung Chitti; Leave for Kuala Lampur; Evening visit to Batu Caves Kuala Lampur
Friday, March 9 Leave for Georgetown Penang; Visit to Kampung Kling mosque and Nagore Dargah Penang
Saturday, March 10 Morning visit to Jalan Baru Temple; Afternoon visit to Dato Koyah, Khoo Kongsi, and Kek Lok Si; Return to Singapore Penang
Sunday, March 11 Depart Singapore for US Singapore

 

SAST 217.308

Tech and Innovation in India

Date Activities Location
Friday, March 2 Depart Philadelphia for Bangalore Philadelphia, PA
Saturday, March 3 Overnight airport hotel in Mumbai Mumbia
Sunday, March 4 Arrive in Bangalore 8AM; tour of Visvesvaraya Industrial and Technological Museum & Lal Bagh Botanical Gardens Bangalore
Monday, March 5 Trip launch at NASSCOM – Introduction by Rajeev Srinivasan; visit Bosch facilities Bangalore
Tuesday, March 6 Tour of GE Bangalore; tour of IBM; dinner with IIIT Bangalore and Penn alumni Pune
Wednesday, March 7 Leave for Pune; Check-in at IISER; walking tour of Pune market with Pushkar Sohoni Pune
Thursday, March 8 Visit ThoughtWorks; Nagphani hike at sunset (optional) Pune
Friday, March 9 Hackathon at ThoughtWorks Pune
Saturday, March 10 Guided tech tours of Aga Khan & Dagadusheth Halwai Ganapati Temple Pune
Sunday, March 11 Free day; depart Pune 4PM for US Pune

 

SAST 217.407 Performing Arts of Modern South India

Date Activities Location/Hotel
Friday, Dec 22 Arrive 12:10AM; Chennai Orientation and Shopping; Chennai Music Festival Events Chennai; Hotel: Savera
Saturday, Dec 23 Travel to Kanchipuram by car and hotel check-in; Lunch and travel to Punjarasantankal village; Day-long workshop with Kattaikkuttu Sangam Chennai to Kanchipuram; Hotel GRT Residency
Sunday, Dec 24 Leave for Pondicherry (AM); Arrive in Pondicherry for lunch and shopping in the city; conversation on music history with Dr. B.M. Sundram Kanchipuram to Pondicherry;

Hotel: Le Dupleix

Monday, Dec 25 Drive to Thanjavur (AM); Arrive in Thanjavur, rest; Visit Brhadisvara temple, dinner at Svatma Thanjavur; Hotel: Svatma
Tuesday, Dec 26 Visit Tiruvaiyaru (shrine to the composer Tyagaraja, seraglio of King Serfoji); Lunch at Ideal Resort; Visit to Tanjapurisvara temple, dinner at Svatma or Sangam Hotel Thanjavur; Hotel: Svatma
Wednesday, Dec 27 Visit to Thanjavur Palace, Visit to Swamimalai temple, lunch at Indeco Swamimalai; Nagasvaram lecture-demonstration Thanjavur; Hotel: Svatma
Thursday, Dec 28 Drive Thanjavur > Trichy (TRZ airport)

FLIGHTS: TRZ > MAA; MAA > HYD

Hyderabad; Hotel: Taj Vivanta Begumpet
Friday, Dec 29 Workshop with Annbhattula Mangatayaru and troupe (in Saptaparni) Hyderabad; Hotel: Taj Vivanta Begumpet
Saturday, Dec30 Free time and visit to old Hyderabad; Evening flight HYD à MAA Hyderabad > Chennai;

Hotel: Savera

Sunday. Dec 31 Music workshop by either Tiruvarur Girish or Sikkil Gurucharan; free time in evening; New Year’s Eve party at Savera hotel; students going to Singapore leave Chennai; Hotel: Savera
Monday, Jan 1 Free time during day; flight home in evening Flight home; Hotel: Savera (pay extra day)