Joseph S. Francisco

President’s Distinguished Professor of Earth and Environmental Science

Joseph S. Francisco has been the President’s Distinguished Professor of Earth and Environmental Science, with a secondary appointment in the Department of Chemistry, since 2018. He received his Ph.D. in chemical physics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He was a Research Fellow at Cambridge University, and a Visiting Associate in Planetary Science at California Institute of Technology. Francisco is an internationally recognized scholar of atmospheric chemistry and his work extends across chemical, earth, and environmental sciences.

Francisco is the Associate Editor of the Journal of the American Chemical Society. He has served as Atmospheric and Ocean Science Editor for Pure and Applied Geophysics, and as a member of the Editorial Advisory Boards of the Journal of the American Chemical SocietyJournal of Physical ChemistryJournal of Molecular Structure TheochemSpectrochemica Acta Part A, and Theoretical Chemistry Accounts. He is the co-author of the fundamental textbook in chemical kinetics and dynamics, Chemical Kinetics and Dynamics, as well as more than 600 peer-reviewed publications.

Francisco is a Fellow of the American Chemical Society, the American Physical Society, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and is a member of the National Academy of Sciences. He was elected President of the American Chemical Society for 2010. Francisco was appointed a member of the President’s Committee on the National Medal of Science by former President Barack Obama and is a former member of the Naval Research Advisory Committee for the Department of the Navy. He is a past President of the National Organization for the Professional Advancement of Black Chemists and Chemical Engineers. Among his other distinguished honors are an Alexander von Humboldt U.S. Senior Scientist Award, John Simon Guggenheim Fellowship, an Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship, and the Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award, and five honorary degrees.